Adventures in Singapore

Blog #6 - Adventures In Singapore

Having been to Singapore 7.5 years ago on a short stopover to Australia, I had always wanted to go back.  The more I saw on social media and in travel press; I definitely couldn’t wait to get on the plane at the end of April for 5 nights.

Hitting Singapore at anytime of the year is going to be hot and humid, and we had a few storms as well, which all adds to the fun. There truly is so much to see, do and experience in this mecca of modern and new, which sits alongside traditional, Chinese heritage.  Here are a few of my favourite explorations from my few days in this magical, juxtaposed city.

 

Pamper Time:

One of my favourite things to do wherever I am is to go to a spa or have a massage.  I love a super good pampering session!

Before heading over, my other half did some research and decided that Healing Touch Spa was the place to visit and it didn’t disappoint.  In a very handy spot between Bras Basah and Dhoby Ghaut MRT stations on the second floor of the Rendevous Hotel, this hidden gem, which does have other spots around the city, offers a few type of massage.  We had their signature Asian Fusion massage, a mix of Swedish, Deep Tissue, Thai Massage and pressure point work to relax and soothe aching muscles.

I am very fussy with my massage, and loved this; great pressure and also relaxing.  I definitely felt looser and more chilled out after the one and a half hours of pampering. The massage was followed by a choice of tea and water before heading back the heat.

At $88.28 for 90 minutes, I definitely felt it was good value and would definitely return.

http://www.healingtouchspa.com

A couple of days later we headed to Tang Dynasty Massage and Spa on the north side of the Kampong Glam area on North Bridge Road (Nicoll Highway MRT).   This was one of my favourite foot reflexology sessions ever!  The room was cool (but not cold) and relaxing, with gentle lighting.  The big comfy, reclining chairs helped you melt away from the moment you sat / lay down. The next 60 minutes were blissful to say the least.

I love having a massage where you can tell you are being massaged, and Tang Dynasty definitely gave me this.  After three days covering many miles of Singapore, I was hoping to feel some pressure work, and I wasn’t disappointed.  While there was some lower legwork, this was also good and not for too long.  When I go for reflexology I want my feet rubbed!  We had a special price of $45 all in for an hour, which I think was worth every dollar.

http://tangdynastyspa.com

 

For Foodies:

There are so many places to eat in Singapore and we definitely got the hang of where the locals go more this time around.  The multiple food courts and hawker centres are go to spots for most Singaporeans.  We tried the Food Opera @ ION in the basement of the ION shopping mall on Orchard Road, that was bustling and full of local and broader Asian options. Cheap and good flavoursome food.

http://www.ionorchard.com/en/(Orchard MRT is right underneath so super easy).

One evening we went to Newton Circus (Newton MRT and a two minute walk over the bridge).  This is one of the oldest and most fun hawker spots to go and eat at; plus with the weather always being so warm, it’s fabulous being sat outside.  The buzz is amazing and you can pick whatever Asian delights you fancy, so all tastes are covered.  I would recommend this for a true taste of Singapore life for sure.

After heading to Gardens By the Bay in the evening (see below), we had not eaten, so headed to Marina Bay Sands for some food as one of the nearest places.  After a quick search of the map we decided to try English – yes a bit strange in Asia, but not having been home for a while, the Fish and Chips caught my eye and definitely did not disappoint.  The Bread Kitchen by Gordon Ramsey is not normally where I would chose to go when on holiday but I was glad I did.  In fact we went twice (the day we flew home so as to avoid the plane food!!!)  The fish and chips has the best batter I have experienced in a long time – crispy but also soft underneath (like it is in England) and the crushed peas were scrumptious!  The second visit we also managed dessert as well – the deconstructed mango cheesecake was light, palate cleansing and delicious.  Be careful not to fill up on the wonderful selection of bread on arrival though! J

https://www.gordonramsayrestaurants.com/bread-street-kitchen-singapore/

And my favourite foodie, well drink place is Atlas Bar in Parkview Square (Bugis MRT).  I am a huge lover of Art Deco and this was like heaven for me.  It is a divine cocktail (and gin bar – I have never seen so many types of drinks in one place).  Before the fairly recent refurb, a fairy used to go to the higher shelves to pull down specially requested tipples.  I was sad not to see this as I thought I might have found my calling J

We only had a snack here but it was a delicious club sandwich with fries and a beautifully crafted mocktail specially made for me with grapefruit and passionfruit juice (and some other things), which was refreshing and crisp and delicious.  (I am a fussy drinker and the bartender created a masterpiece just for me).

There is a much wider food menu, which I would have loved to have experienced, but we didn’t have time.  Next visit for sure!!!  I think Atlas Bar is one of my favourite places in the world – relaxed, elegant, stylish, and full of class without being snobby or superior I LOVED IT!!!!

http://atlasbar.sg

 

Being a Tourist:

My overall favourite ‘tourist’ experience was Gardens By the Bay (Bayfront MRT). We went twice in one day – first thing in the morning, which I would definitely recommend.  It is quieter and the light is beautiful for taking pictures.  We also visited the same evening, to witness the magical and goose bump inducing Garden Rhapsody Light Show, which is not to be missed.

Definitely visit the two Conservatory Domes – ‘Flower Dome’ bursting with colourful blossoms, tulips on our visit, but this changes regularly, and ‘Cloud Forest’ which you can climb to the top of the tallest indoor waterfall and experience a magical plant discovery on the way down.  The mist as you explore the walkways, offers much needed cooling respite from the outdoor heat. We unfortunately did the Flower Dome in the evening, which was pretty with the lights, but didn’t allow for great pics and the crowds were a bit much for me.

The other not miss is the OCB Skyway.   The views are spectacular of the gardens and city behind, including the majestic Marina Bay Sands hotel.  The unique perspective is pretty stunning and you get the best views of the iconic Supertree Grove, which is where the evening Light Show takes places.

You can spend the day wandering around the whole garden and I would definitely go back and take my time more as I felt we didn’t see everything and were a bit rushed.

Note, you have to pay for each of the experiences – $8 for the Skyway and $28 for both domes.  You don’t have to do them one after the other, but tickets must be used on the day of purchase.

http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/en.html

Of course Chinatown, Kampong Glam and Little India are great to explore and there are delights around every corner.  I loved just exploring and soaking up the different architecture and vibes.  Sometimes you feel like you have walked back in time as you peak around a corner.

Sentosa Island is also worth a visit.  You can get some quite time in the more hidden corners – we had some time out the sister hotel of where we were staying, the Sofitel, and it was beautiful.  The cable car ride back to the ‘mainland’ gives great views of the shipping lanes, which is something to behold.

Next time I would also head back to the Botanic Gardens – we unfortunately got rained out during our time there.

 

Overall, Singapore is a must visit!  I can’t wait to go back and spend more time exploring and maybe doing a bit more shopping this time.  I would rush to M&S for some more English treats as well – this was as added bonus surprise!  The bits of home you miss when you live so far away.

There is so much to see and do, and I would take multiple visits to do it all or chose what you really want to see rather than rushing around.  If you do make it over, enjoy and soak up the magic of this spectacular city.

Leave a comment